Meats2U Sweet Potato Flatbread Pizza

Follow me on Instagram for more on my Heath and Fitness journey here @thyroidfitnesschic

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I am working on adding more recipes for The Camp Transformation Center Challengers. If you have no idea what that is, don’t worry about it the recipe is still valuable to you! Just avoid the term FTDI, it’s what we used to describe approved items for the program. 

This flatbread recipe requires only two ingredients: rolled oats and a sweet potato. Anyone who is eating clean should know this basic staple recipe ASAP because this was literally game-changing for me and I am so excited to share with you! I just finished three days of no carbs for carb cycling so I might be hyping up this recipe up a bit, bare with me here. This recipe can be used to make pizzas, wraps,tacos, sweet cinnamon strips, and so much more. 

Some people like orange sweet potatoes/yams and some people like yellow/white ones and quite frankly I’m not quite sure what the correct term each one is called but I favor the yellow ones! Either way you way you it turns out delicious. 
I started avoiding processed carbs such as bread or store made tortillas and switched to primarily just brown rice, quinoa, sweet potatoes, or rolled oats as my carb source about a year ago. Out of these I have managed to get extremely creative! Unless I am eating “cheat meals” when I am off the challenge processed carbs are not a main part of my diet because I don’t like the way my body processes them and I have been making a conscious effort to limit the amount of processed food as a part of my lifestyle change. But let’s be real there’s only so many rolled oat tortillas a girl can eat without getting bored. I’m actually pretty mad at myself because a variation of this recipe has been in front of my face for almost a year now so take my word and trust me when I say this is amazing and a must try! 
If you do not like sweet potatoes I am assuming a regular potato would work as a substitute but have not tried it myself! Please note this will not be FTDI for anyone on a 20-lb challenge if you do it use a sweet potato or yam!


Ingredients:

1 sweet potato or yam

1 1/4 c oat flour (rolled oats mixed in a Nutri bullet or a blender)

Directions:

1. Steam a sweet potato for 5 to 7 minutes in your microwave (poke holes in the potato with a fork wrap and a damp paper towel)

2. After cooking peel off the skin and measure 1 c portion into a bowl. Mash with a fork

3. Add 1 cup of oat flour to the mixture and continue to mix with a fork until a dough forms.

4. Divide dough into six pieces* roll into  logs. 

5. In between parchment paper dusted with flour roll out each piece and set aside individually between layers of paper towels to keep them moist and not stuck together. 


6. Place your flatbread on cast iron pan (cast Iron is best results but I didn’t use mine) and cook on both sides. It will start to puff up and you will know that it’s ready!


7. Place your cooked flat bread in between towels as you go so it does not dry up while you finish cooking!

8. Enjoy!

If you’re going to make pizza than make them a little bit more crispy so you just bake your ingredients in the oven to warm them up! I used Meats2U Ez Prep garlic seasoned poultry to make meatballs in a pan stovetop and Walden farms zero calorie BBQ sauce to make my FTDI pizza. Make sure you only use veggies on your list if you are on a challenge!

Update: I’ve been experimenting and they are amazing with cinnamon sprinkled on top with honey or for Challengers Walden Farms syrup to be FTDI

I also made a spinach scramble and used the flatbread to make a breakfast burrito…so basically I ate these for breakfast lunch and dinner! Let’s see how long it takes for me to get burnt out on these! 

*FTDI NOTE: If you are on the Camp Transformation Center FTDI diet weigh the whole dough and divide accordingly. I weighed mine out and it was about 12 ounces so I divided it and double checked my portions were 2 ounces which is correct for women’s 20lb 6 week challenge but remember it depends what challenge and if you’re male or female portion! Credit to Moo-Moo Jackson for FTDI portion and instructions , you are the best! 

Leave a comment